Design a day challange| Day 2

Design a day challange| Day 2

ยท

4 min read

Practice does not make perfect, Only perfect practice makes perfect


I forgot to upload the entry for day 2๐Ÿ˜…. Inspired by the legendary Gary Simon from Design Course, I decided to start a 100-day long web-design design challenge. In order to best learn and gain accountability, I will try and post it all here.

Check out his video if you want to also attempt redesigning the entries: Here is the link


Entry 2| Service section

Entry2.PNG

Critiques:

In all honesty, this entry isn't that bad ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ, the use of colour helps create a focus on the three different sections, the bolded title does just enough to give an idea of what information is available. The hierarchy isn't too shabby -- I guess the 'service' heading could have been more emphasised. But hey, Im not here to just make something 'mediocre', let's polish it up

The polish list (not the country)

  • I want to add a welcome page, something to prompt users to see the information section
  • The theme I am going to implement is something modest, Im going in this direction because of the gold background
  • I want to change the font styles
  • I want to reduce the colour's and make the page a little more minimalistic

Challenge 2- page one โ€“ stage1.png

Initially, in my mind, I had this 'front' page layout. The reason why I chose to have a predecessor page before the service was because It allows me to split the communication, page one would focus on priming the users for the services offered, and page 2 could focus all its energy on showing those services.

The fonts

Fonts are essential components to designing a holistic feel, and sometimes it's difficult to chose which is the best font to utilize. I never went to design school so I usually source my fonts from type wolf (not sponsored). For this design in particular I decided to go for the classic times new roman and calibre combo.

typewolf.com

Challenge 2- page one โ€“ stage2.png This is stage two of the front page design, I found the illustration from freepik.com (I lost the URL for the photo), I spaced the heading words to just consume some space on the left side. However, it still felt a little bland and lacking in appeal.

Page one final

Challenge 2- page one.png Better, I took the colour from the original entry and used it as an accent tone to the overall design. I also brought the image to the foreground and added a boarder to give it a little more focus, It also keeps the green from over-dominating the page. Am I happy with this? In all honesty, I am not. Because there isn't enough story behind the whole entry I can't get too creative without going out of line, In my opinion, it looks very 2D and flat. And at this current moment in time, I don't yet know what to do about that.

I won't bore you with the progression for the service page, so here are the two final designs I was left to decide over.

service page 1| Overlapping lines and text

Challenge 2 page2.png

This first one broke the rule of being minimalistic, I placed "service" text behind the text with a low opacity mainly because the whole page started to look a little 'empty' without it. It's ironic how that's even a problem considering I wanted to make it more minimalistic but believe me when I say it did not look right. So I decided to place the service text somewhere else and align the text and main content in the centre of the page.

Challenge 2 page2 โ€“ 2.png

However, It still didn't look right, more specifically, it didn't have the attractive appeal that I was looking to create. Im still learning how to create appealing design pages and so im sure I have a long way to go before I can actually articulate the design flaws, errors. But for now, I decided to just question some of the things I did out of habit. Things such as:

  • Adding The green banner at the bottom of the page (was it necessary?)
  • What about adding more geometry?
  • What would it look like with more color?

Here is where challenging my initial beliefs took me

Challenge 2 page2 โ€“ tri.png Am I happy with this? No, this could have been executed better, So far what I have learnt is that I easily default to the 3 card information display method without challenging myself for why I go for that layout. Anyways, here is the wrap for entry 2:

Entry2.PNG

Challenge 2- page one.png

Challenge 2 page2 โ€“ tri.png

ย