Design a day challange| Day 3

Design a day challange| Day 3

ยท

2 min read

Study hard, practice hard, play ferociously.


I also forgot to upload the entry for day 3๐Ÿ˜…. Inspired by the legendary Gary Simon from Design Course, I decided to start a 100-day long web-design design challenge. In order to best learn and gain accountability, I will try and post it all here.

Check out his video if you want to also attempt redesigning the entries: Here is the link


The original entry| Sharing app

Entry3.PNG

The things to change

Gary.PNG I decided to look to the great Gary for some inspiration.

  • I wanted to change the overall emotion communicated --something fun and exciting
  • Since this is an app that focuses on sharing and communication, I thought adding some humans on site would make it more friendly and organic
  • I wanted to give the page a little more life in colour

The colour pallet (coolors.co)

Sunny Beach.png To get that fun and exciting feel to the design I selected these fresh colours. Caroline blue and pastel yellow are going to be the dominant colours on the site.

The fonts

Since this design is aimed at being friendly, I chose rounded bubbly text fonts. The one I decided to use was: Arial Rounded MT, however, for the text messages I needed something formal, so I went for z classic regular weighted Arial font.

Here is what It looked like in the end:

Challenge 3.png

Here is the alternate colour design

Challenge 3 โ€“ 1.png

I intentionally chose a paper plane icon that looked almost like a sticker to enhance the friendliness of the whole design, it also functions to add a comfortable positive connotation. There isn't much to say about this design, to be honest.

References

The blue paper plane:

Icons made by Smashicons from www.flaticon.com

The two photos of those people: Technology photo created by benzoix - www.freepik.com

Hand photo created by wayhomestudio - www.freepik.com

ย